What every Asian art and antiques collector should know BEFORE buying!

What every Asian art and antiques collector should know BEFORE buying!

Hello everyone, I have been on hiatus for a while for an expedition/research trip, travel and personal reasons, you know life IS busy!  But I am back and will start to post again until the next major interruption takes my attention elsewhere.

Today I want to just let you read this article on the truth of the Asian art and antiques business and market. If you have ever bought, are thinking of buying again, or want to start buying, if you are experienced, a novice, and especially if you think you know it all, I urge you to tough out this long article and read it from start to finish. It will be well worth your time for the education you will get on the truth of this industry, especially in China. It is also a good way for me to promote my consulting services to be frank, because I can save you tens and hundreds of thousands of dollars if you just spend a bit with me consulting before you buy! I have done it before and will do it again! I could have saved one lawyer well over $300,000.00 if he would have just set his ego aside and called me before he bought! However, instead, he called me to appraise the pieces he had already bought and I had to tell him ALL of his monumental “ivory” pieces were not only fakes, but either bone (1) or resin (3)! I am here to help stop the you from getting cheated, but you must ask for the help, or I will only be around to break your hearts later, telling you that you got ripped off! If you are willing to spend thousands, let alone millions, wouldn’t it be a wise investment to hire me for a small percentage of that price to make sure? Buy the way, just in case you were wondering, this does not just happen in China, but every country in the world to one degree or another! Caveat Emptor is the key phrase in the art and antiques industry at every level from sellers, dealers, appraisers and experts!

Have a nice read: http://www.nytimes.com/projects/2013/china-art-fraud/

Sincerely, Greg C. Brown, M.S., ISA, CAGA.

President, Greg C. Brown & Associates, Inc.

Minnesota Sub-Chapter Chairman, The Explorers Club.

1-888-815-9430

Info@asianappraisals.com

Greg Brown portrait. Photo by Andrew Collings.

“Integrity has no need of rules.”
:Albert Camus

 

Leave a Reply

